To display the Options dialog, press the
button on the toolbar.
The options dialog allows you to change some of the program settings. If you
installed the program on a USB flash drive, the settings are kept in the file
"PasswordPod.ini" in the same folder as the program files. If you installed the
program on a computer, they are kept in the computer's registry. In fact, if
PasswordPod finds the file PasswordPod.ini in the program folder, it will always store the settings
there even if you installed it on a computer.
If you use PasswordPod regularly, you'll find it useful to choose the option
to run the program automatically
every time you log onto Windows. The red padlock will appear in the system tray
at startup, but the main window will not be shown. This option is disabled if
you installed the program on a USB flash drive.
You can choose to check for updates automatically. The program checks on the website for a new version after it starts up each time. Of course this requires internet access so you will need to ensure that your firewall does not block this. To avoid annoying you with messages, it won't tell you if there are any problems connecting and will just try again next time you start the program. You can also check for updates manually at any time from the Help menu.
If you visit a web page using your browser and you have a corresponding record, the
record details will be transferred to the page automatically if you check the
box. If you don't want automatic transfer, you'll need to initiate the transfer
using the system tray icon's popup menu or by clicking on the
button on the toolbar. Note that to
transfer in this way between web pages and records, you need to be using a compatible web browser. If
not, you'll need to drag & drop details from the record using the mouse or copy & paste the details to the web page.
As you make changes, PasswordPod automatically
writes the changes to your secure data file so that you don't have to explicitly
save the changes yourself. If you check the box in the options dialog, a
backup copy of your secure data file is created each time you open it,
so if you make unintentional changes, you can always resort to the backup copy.
The backup file is written to the same folder as your secure data file and has
the same name, but with ".backup" at the end. Note that when you next open your secure
data file, this file will be overwritten.
If you have installed PasswordPod on your computer and also on a USB flash drive, you can choose
to be notified automatically if the timestamps of the files are different after inserting the
flash drive, indicating that they need to be synchronized. This launches the file sync
dialog, which you can also access at any time by pressing the
button on the toolbar.
By default, your secure data is automatically locked after 30 minutes of inactivity. It's recommended that you use auto-lock
in case you forget to lock your data and leave the computer unattended.